Header Bild



Marshall Plan Scholarhip: Research stays in the US

The scholarship offers the opportunity to work on research projects at U.S. universities for between 3 and 12 months and/or to write a master's/bachelor's thesis.

Application deadline for research stays starting between January 31, 2021 and July 30, 2021:

Application Deadline: 20 October 2020

Bilateral funding programs: Cooperation with universities in Slovakia, Czech Republic, Hungary

Are you planning to expand cooperation with universities in Solwakia, the Czech Republic or Hungary?

The three bilateral funding programmes "Aktionen" support cooperation and cross-border mobility in the tertiary sector between Austria and the three neighbouring countries Slovakia, Czech Republic and Hungary. The focus is on the promotion of young scientists. The different funding initiatives are as follows:

  •     Cross-border mobility through scholarship programs
  •     Bilateral cooperation projects
  •     Promotion of the acquisition of the respective neighbouring language

More Information

The 1st Call of Africa-UniNet

26 African and 14 Austrian member institutions are welcome to apply for research cooperation projects which contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Africa-UniNet supports international research cooperation projects with at least one Austrian and at least one African university/university of applied sciences/research institution. As an active member of Africa-UniNet MUL is eligible to apply. Both the African institution and the Austrian institution may assume the coordination of the project.


The call is open from 01 August to 30 September 2020

Find out more: OEAD

We are European University

Montanuniversität Leoben, together with six partner universities, was successful in the second call for proposals: The EUROPEAN UNIVERSITY on Responsible Consumption and Production (EURECA-PRO)

The EURECA-PRO Alliance consists of Montanuniversität Leoben (as Project-Lead), TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Technical University of Crete, University of León, Silesian Technical University, University of Petrosani and the University of Applied Sciences Mittweida.

European Universities are intended to represent a new form of cooperation between higher education institutions in Europe with the long-term goal of strengthening the excellence of the European Higher Education and ultimately to realise the European Education Area and lead to a European degree. 

More information about the European Universities Initiative

Internship abroad

Students of Montanuniversität Leoben have the possibility to receive financial support from up to € 580 per month for an internship abroad: You can apply for the Erasmus+ Mobility Grant for internships in the Erasmus+ Program countries; the Student Abroad Grant for international internships is available to stays in non-European countries.