Header Bild

International

International Competence Centre for Mining-Engineering Education under the auspices of UNESCO

AUSTRIAN BRANCH

The "International Competence Centre for Mining-Engineering Education under the auspices of UNESCO, Austrian Branch" is a non-profit organization established on 04.12.2019 between Montanuniversität Leoben and St. Petersburg Mining University ( Article about the New Agreement). It is based on the contract concluded between the Russian Federation and UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization).

The mission of the Centre, with its headquarters in St. Petersburg, is to promote the principles of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) at national and international level in the field of mineral resources and to create the conditions for further training of qualified specialists and scientific personnel in mining.

Exemplary core tasks are the promotion of the development of ideas and innovations as well as the global dialogue between states and educational institutions of higher education in the field of natural sciences and technical education. Another core activity is the support of global mobility programmes for students, teachers and researchers.

The Austria/Leoben Branch Office has given priority to the topics of sustainability, global supply of raw materials and raw materials policy. Further satellite competence centres are currently being established in Lapeenranta/Finland and Freiberg/Germany.

Header Bild

internationales

International Competence Centre for Mining-Engineering Education under the auspices of UNESCO

ZWEIGSTELLE ÖSTERREICH/LEOBEN

Das "International Competence Centre for Mining-Engineering Education under the auspices of UNESCO, Austrian Branch" ist eine am 04.12.2019 zwischen der Montanuniversität Leoben und der Mining University St. Petersburg abgeschlossene non-profit Organisation (Bericht der Vertragsunterzeichnung zwsichen MUL und St. Petersburg). Grundlage dafür ist der Errichtungsvertrag des Zentrums zwischen der Russischen Föderation und UNESCO (Organisation der Vereinten Nationen für Erziehung, Wissenschaft und Kultur).

Die Mission des Zentrums, mit Hauptsitz in St. Petersburg, ist die Förderung der Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene in Bezug auf den Bereich der mineralischer Ressourcen sowie die Schaffung der Voraussetzungen für die Weiterbildung qualifizierter Fachkräfte und wissenschaftlicher Arbeitskräfte im Bergbau.

Beispielhafte Kernaufgaben dabei sind Förderung der Entwicklung von Ideen und Innovationen sowie des globalen Dialogs zwischen Staaten und Bildungseinrichtungen der Hochschulbildung auf dem Gebiet der Naturwissenschaften und der technischen Bildung sowie die Unterstützung globaler Mobilitätsprogramme für Studierende, Lehrende und Forscher.

Der Zweigstelle Österreich/Leoben hat sich vorrangig den Themen Nachhaltigkeit, globale Versorgung und Rohstoffpolitik gewidmet. Weitere Satellitenkompetenzzentren befinden sich in Lapeenranta/ Finnland und Freiberg/Deutschland gerade im Aufbau.